WAVE Awards! Celebrating our local teachers

Venice Paparazzi rolled out the red carpet for the 9th Annual Venice Wave Awards.  View pics!

Each year the Venice Chamber Education Committee recognizes and celebrates  local teachers for their achievements in and beyond the classroom.

Here is a message from VCC Education Committee Chair and Founder/Director of Ecole Claire Fontaine, Joëlle Dumas:

Thank you for sharing your hearts and inspiration at our annual gala to honor teachers, the 2019 WAVE Awards. This year’s awardees are equitable and connected to their students. They foster empathy and moral independence, tools essential in crafting meaningful lives as members of our global world.

The May 9th convivial community evening was hosted by the Venice Chamber of Commerce Education Committee at the Coffee Connection, and catered by Casablanca Restaurant. Fiore Designs created the floral arrangements, Control-Printing made the awards and Venice Paparazzi was the photographer. Thank you.

In attendance were WAVE awardees, their colleagues, families, school directors and officials, including District 11 Councilmember Mike Bonin, LAUSD School Board Member Nick Melvoin represented by Allison Holdorff, LA County District 3 Supervisor Sheila Kuehl represented by Zachary Gaidzik, State Assemblymember Autumn Burke represented by Samahndi Cunningham, and Congressman Ted Lieu represented by Janet Turner. Thank you for joining us and to our MC Kristin Duerr.
We offer a special thank you to all who donated their financial support and encouragement, and to our official grantors and sponsors: Abbot Kinney Festival Association Community Grants Program, Ecole Claire Fontaine, Google, LA County District 3 Supervisor Sheila Kuehl’s Office, Paul Davis Architects, Stephanie & Eli Holzman, and The Venice Place Project.
Thank you to all of the teachers, and especially to those for whom we do it all – the children.

Joëlle Dumas

Karen, Janet Turner, Joelle Dumas, Kristin Duerr

Congratulations to this year’s 2019 WAVE Award Winners:

  1. Ecole Claire Fontaine– Solange Kamgaing
  2. Beethoven Elementary School–Sarah Galvan
  3. Broadway Elementary School–Ling Zhu
  4.  Richland Ave. Elementary School–Casey Fichtner
  5. Short Ave. Elementary School–Eva Cervantes-Zapien
  6.   Walgrove Elementary School–Ruben Gonzalez
  7. Westminster Elementary School–Jessica Dunn
  8.  Mark Twain Middle School–Stacye Harvey
  9.  Venice High School–Mary Ruth Greene
  10. Venice Skills Center–Stephen John Roth
  11.   Boys and Girls Club of Venice–Shane Basye
  12. Neighborhood Youth Association–Rachel Lash
  13. Venice Arts–Jacinto Astiazaran
  14. Venice Community Housing–Kendelle Milton


Here is a fun Venice Paparazzi fact! 

  • Venice Paparazzi has covered the WAVE awards every single year since it started in 2011.   Woo Hoo!  Let’s hear it for consistency!
  • Need photographers or a photo booth for your next event?  Hire Venice Paparazzi!

View 2019 WAVE Award photos by Venice Paparazzi!


View all 2019 WAVE award photos here.

For more VCC Education Committee info, visit vcceducationcommittee.org




Thank You to Our Partners